Voting for bypolls underway for 4 Assembly seats in Bawana, Nandyal, Valpoi & Panaji

The voting for the bypolls for four Assembly seats is underway in Bawana in Delhi, Nandyal in Andhra Pradesh, Valpoi and Panaji in Goa.

The polling is being held at 76 booths that includes 30 in Panaji and 46 in Valpoi. The voting process will continue upto 5 pm in the evening.

17.25 percent voting was recorded in Bawana in Delhi till 11 am. 50 percent of voting is recorded in Nandyal of Andhra Pradesh till noon at 1 pm.

The four Assembly seats became vacant due to different reasons. In Nandyal of Andhra Pradesh, the Assembly seat fell vacant after the TDP legislator died of cardiac arrest.

Voting during Election

Voting during Election (Representational Image)

From TDP, Brahmananda Reddy, nephew of YSR Congress Party chief Jaganmohan Reddy is contesting for the bypolls and from YSRCP, former minister Silpa Chandra Mohan Reddy is on the race. He lost the seat as a TDP nominee in 2014.

Manohar Parrikar, Goa Chief Minister is contesting from the Panaji constituency against Congress vicepresident Rahul Gandhi’s confident candidate Girish Chodankar.

In the Valpoi bypolls, Vishwajeet Rane is contesting against Roy Naik. Vishwajeet Rane is the Health Minster and Roy Naik is the son of Ravi Naik of Congress party.

For Bawana constituency, Ved Prakash from BJP who won the Assembly elections in 2015 as an AAP candidate stood in bypoll. He resigned from AAP in March to join BJP.

For the bypoll, the Voter Verifiable Paper Audit Trail (VVPAT) machines are being used.

The results for these bypolls will be declared on August 28.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *